Redonkulous

Man stranded in the Paris airport for ten years.

Read this.

I am posting this because I’ve been talking about it for a few weeks now, and I still think it’s one of the best stories I’ve ever heard.

Also, because five years ago, when I was passing through Charles de Gaulle, at 3 AM, I saw this man. He was pushing his baggage cart, with an assortment of plastic bags all around it, and loose leaves of paper stacked in the hand-bag basket part. He was going from one of the benches to the coffee bar I think. And another passenger leaned over, telling me “that man, believe it or not, has been here for six years…”

I didn’t have the presence of mind to sit down and talk to him. I just sort of watched him walk on by, pushing his luggage cart, and I kept thinking about him on and off for a few years, until I came accross this story. I needed to show that this story was true, after telling it at a dinner party, and I was amused to find that they turned this story into a movie…TWICE! haha. Once the french version, small budget etc. Then, of course, the Hollywood version with Tom Hanks and Catherina Zeta-Jones (you can guess the ending by the cast, can’t you?).

But he’s still living at the airport.

Leave a Reply

