Photography

18% grey

I just found out about this thing in photography called 18% grey. It was discovered by the folks at Kodak, so I’m not sure what that means, or even if I understand it well, but I like the idea in any case and I’ve been thinking about it for a couple of days now.

Apparently, 18% grey is the perfect medium tone, which means that if you meter all your shots to it, they will all come out perfectly exposed. Of course they may in the end be out of focus, but this works out in my train of thought, because I think we all need to have our 18% grey, a set of values, or one value we particularly cannot live without, in helping us to meter our decisions to it.

Leave a Reply

