California · Travel

Hearst Castle

On a whim, I set out to Hearst Castle this past weekend. I may have been a little too spontaneous. My phone died before I reached my hotel, and I had to drive three extra hours to find a hotel that was open and had available rooms. I had originally thought of staying in Solvang and visiting the Dutch area, but the hotel erased my reservation, and I had to drive up the rest of the way to Hearst in the middle of the night.

The visit to the castle was pretty memorable. On arrival, I realized there are dozens of various tours depending on the hour of the day, so if you ever go back, chances are you won’t have the same visit. It’s a nifty trick to encourage repeat visits.

Overall, it was a great trip. The coast is so beautiful, the vistas are splendid. It was one of those times where I had to pinch myself to realize how lucky I am to live in such a gorgeous state. And pinch myself to stay awake.




One thought on “Hearst Castle

Leave a Reply

