Movies

Sin Nombre

Tonight didn’t go as planned. I showed up at the NHM with plenty of time and everything was sold out. When I got back to Pasadena, I rocked up to the Laemmle and got a ticket to Sin Nombre. I’ve been looking forward to this movie for a few months now. I keep a list of films to watch out for in the back of a notebook I carry around everywhere.

I only see a movie this good about every three years. To me, it is a perfect movie. The trailer is excellent too, it gives a great idea of the feeling of the movie, so if you like it, chances are you’ll like the movie.

One word of caution, though. It is a difficult subject, it has extremely violent–some would say distasteful–scenes and it’s not a mood lifter. The main character is a conflicted and at a crossroads, lost, but finding his way, guided by a young woman who extends a hand of friendship. I find the movie is about personal salvation. In all three aspects, it’s very much like The Wrestler.

Anyone living in Los Angeles or any border state should see the movie. If only to see the lengths people go to for a chance at what we take so easily for granted. Empathy is a powerful thing.

The movie’s story is also fascinating, I encourage you to read up on it. The filming on a constantly moving set, the real-life experiences of people on the “train of death” and the story of the director are all very interesting.

Leave a Reply

