Art · Memorable words · Movies · Travel

Rose McGowan

Found this really interesting article about Rose McGowan. She’s utterly fascinating, and her creativity in living her own life is something I relate to. She grew up in Italy (in the Children of God cult, same as the Phoenix family) and moved to the US after her formative years. Her choices, and reactions were so opposite to everyone around her, that she drew fascination and spite. But reading her interview, it somehow felt familiar. In my case, the cult experience is replaced by having grown up in a situation and an environment, a culture so alien to that of anyone I’ve ever met that I might as well have grown up on the moon. People just cannot relate to an experience as vastly different to theirs. I mean…how do you start a conversation with someone who grew up in Congo, or in a crazy cult? You might think it’s easy to do, but often, people’s preconceived stick-figure-like notions of what your experience is, turn out to be roadblocks in their understanding.

In fact, since the ’60s, psychologists and sociologists have coined a term for people like Rose and I: Third Culture Kids, also called Global Nomads, which I tend to prefer. The terms both refer to a person who spent their formative years in a culture not that of their parents. As they develop, they integrate elements of that culture, and their birth culture into a third culture, one of their own making. They tend to have more in common with each other than they do with kids of their home culture. The other interesting thing, is that as they grow up, since their parents have no frame of reference for their childhood experiences, children like these often have to find their own way of understanding experiences that are very profound. Another interesting fact is that TCK’s often come out of intact, highly educated families, which again makes it hard for them to relate to fractured families, and societies where family has less prevalence. (Rose’s experience is different in this aspect…)

Enjoy the article, I think you’ll see what I mean. The girl is interesting!

I love the way she expresses herself! Here are some of my favorites from that interview:

I was pretty much in the smart-kid classes, so I was with the eight kids who were total outcast nerds with bad dandruff.

I’m lucky I didn’t turn out to be a hooker or someone who holds up grocery stores. I think I’ve turned out O.K. considering I had absolutely no guidance.

My formative years were like Mr. Toad’s wild ride. As a result, things don’t faze me much anymore.

I had held myself responsible for years for a lot of things I’d done, but I was not a person with some secret agenda to blow up the world. Although I did burn down a barn once.

There’s a saying that God doesn’t give you more than you can handle, but I continually got more and more, and when my boyfriend died, I just snapped. I’d held up for so long, but I couldn’t be strong anymore. It was like I was this incredible skyscraper, but I was missing the third floor and the fifth floor, the foundation was funky, and the elevators didn’t work. It looked good on the outside, but eventually it all came crumbling down.

I still say I can do whatever I want as long as I’m not hurting anybody else. I don’t understand why more people aren’t like that. Anybody who is somewhat self-aware and has a brain should be pushing at things, because in this decade, and the one before it, we’ve been going backward; it’s like we’re regressing emotionally as a country, and I don’t think it would be that terrible if we had a 1960s kind of fight-against-the-power mentality.

(answering a question about whether acting satisfies her intellectually): I’ve been struggling with that a lot. The hard part is that I occasionally get emotional satisfaction from it, which I would guess most people don’t get in their work. But it’s not often enough to counteract the sensation that I’m experiencing brain death most of the time.

I do, actually, want an emotionally fulfilling life. That’s where my primary ambitions lie. I have this strong feeling that I can fly, although I don’t know exactly what that means. I know I need to be free of the cage in my mind and all the things I rail against.

Leave a Reply

