In the news · NPR · The Internet

My hero

Meet Celia Blay, my new hero.

This 64-year-old woman found out about the some 7,000 suicide websites on the internet from a teenager she was chatting with online. She then dedicated herself to stopping people who prey on vulnerable individuals by GETTING THEM TO KILL THEMSELVES. She figured out one person was posing as multiple wanna-be suicidal individuals, and encouraging teens who wanted to kill themselves to go through with it. She figured out where this man lived through his IP address, and managed to convince Minnesota police to arrest him. The BBC radio segment I heard this morning was so moving, I had to pull over and dry my tears. I am so grateful people like this exist.

You can read the details here.

Leave a Reply

