Music

Ariane Moffatt

it’s an oldie, from 2008 but I just discovered it, so it’s new in my book! It’s the song “Je veux tout” [I want it all] by Ariane Moffatt, a Montreal artist. The lyrics are so awesome, but please don’t google translate them..they sound flat and awful in English. I’ll paraphrase the song below, so you get an idea what it’s about.

The song is about not settling for anything less than everything. This is the gist of what she sings, by verse:

I want it all, I want everything in my life. I want and all your friends, I want you filling the four corners of my life. Hearts are priceless, so I want it all, I want here, I want it now. I want the sharp and the blurry images of my boundless emotions. This is what I work for: love is a walk-in, I want to free-fly without being caged.

I’ll fill that empty space with good memories and bad ones, I’ll fill that empty space before my soul dries out and I burst.

I want it all [this is the beautiful part of the song where each pair rhymes the whole way through, the prettiness of which you just can’t get back in English], I want the silence and all those promises, I want the strictness and all the suppleness, I want anarchy and wisdom, I want your smile and your tush. I want you and all your friends, I want you to paint my days and nights. Hearts are priceless, so I want it all, I want here, I want it now.

(the rest repeats)

Leave a Reply

