backstory · planes · Travel

flying home

reconstructed airplane from a collection of Hipstamatic shots

After six years in Los Angeles, and three years of unemployment, minimum wage employment and temporary employment sprinkled with a regular dose of travel to Congo to visit my family, I decided to fly home in September 2012 with a different goal in mind: explore whether I could relocate and come home, finally.

Since I grew up in Central Africa, this would be a poetic full circle for me. My family moved to Kinshasa, Zaire (now the Democratic Republic of Congo) in 1981 when I was 4 years old. We now live in Pointe-Noire, in the Republic of Congo (different country) in the lovely south-western region of Kouilou, on the shore of the Atlantic.

I boarded the A380 and enjoyed the on-board three-angle camera throughout the flight almost as much as I enjoyed the 200 movie options, then I landed in Paris, ready for a short layover before the second leg of my trip.

Leave a Reply

